Funds information

Tomasz Dietl

Tomasz Dietl

Tomasz Dietl is a Head of division ON-6 and the Group of Theory of Topological Matter funded by a grant from the Foundation for Polish Science.

He completed his PhD and habilitation degrees in experimental and theoretical condensed matter physics in 1977 and 1983, respectively, and obtained professor title in 1990 in the Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences. He was there a head of the Laboratory for Cryogenic and Spintronic Research and since 1986 he has been heading a group. He holds also a part-time principal investigator position at Advanced Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University. Dietl was a postdoctoral researcher at Ecole Polytechnique in Paris and at Munich Technical University. Later he was appointed as a visiting professor at Kepler University in Linz, Fourier University in Grenoble, Tohoku University in Sendai, and Paris Sud University in Orsay. He was also an ordinary professor at the Institute of Theoretical Physics (2004-2016) at the University of Warsaw.

His current research interests are focused on the development of material systems and device concepts for nanospintronics of topological insulators, ferromagnetic and antiferromagnetic semiconductors, and of hybrid metal/semiconductor nanostructures. He is the author or co-author of over 350 publications, cited over 16 000 times, and resulting in the h-factor over 50. Dietl has presented over 150 invited talks at international meetings, including 9 plenary talks at major physics conferences. In 1998 he became a member of the Polish Academy of Sciences; in 2002 he was elected to the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission on Low Temperature Physics, in 2004 and 2015 he was nominated Fellow of the Institute of Physics, UK and of the American Physical Society, respectively, while in 2009 Dietl was elected to the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences as well as to the Warsaw Science Society and in 2011 to Academia Europaea. In 2011 he was appointed by the European Commission to the Scientific Council and to the Steering Committee of the European Research Council (ERC) for the term 2011-2014.

He is recipient of Maria Skłodowska-Curie Award in Poland (1997); Alexander von Humboldt Research Award in Germany (2003); Agilent Technologies Europhysics Prize (2005) with David D. Awschalom and Hideo Ohno, for pioneering works that paved the way for the emergence of semiconductor spintronics; Foundation for Polish Science Prize (2006), and the Marian Smoluchowski Medal of the Polish Physical Society (2010). In 2008 Tomasz Dietl obtained an Advanced Grant (FunDMS) of the European Research Council (Program “Ideas”).

Skip to content